If your brain was a road map to who you are… and you took a walk through it – what would you find?

So I watched an episode of the Big Bang Theory – Amy was cutting up brains and it got me thinking looking at the multiple crevices in one’s brain, if that was a map of who I was, what would I find in the deep paved roads and the small gullies:stockvault-spinning-sketch-abstract133761

On the face of it – it looks pinkish grey (if that’s even a colour) and shiny and clean but I’m guessing it’s anything but.. if you took a walk in my head you’d probably find loads of redbull cans littering the floor, the lights would be bright because the dark scares the dog piss outta me and as you walked along sadly it would get darker as I’m guessing so would most people’s – we’re generally too afraid to really see what’s going on in there post the first few steps..

I would imagine it looks like cobbles streets with Victorian era, wrought iron light posts every few yards, it would be a mélange of old library looking buildings, red brick, moss covering the walls, scary gargoyles atop, I’m not entirely sure what happens in these buildings but hey it’s my brain and I want old library looking buildings – also it would be a clutter of things all around, old books, new books, good books, books my dog could take a dump on, pages of these books could be used as toilet paper, used and discarded cigarette packets, Bic lighters, stationary, cuz I luurve stationary.. papers, papers flying everywhere, I know it’s not eco-friendly to print, but I print everything I read, so yeah you’d see a butt load of papers everywhere…continue your walk…I don’t think you would find many open roads leading to amazing places, uncertainty is not always a comfort.

It is a not a clean or sterile environment, no white walls or the smell of chemicals, but it is cold, it might even snow, it’s never sunny in here, simply because I don’t like the heat, I’m allergic to sunlight – luckily I do not go up in flames when I step into it. I just prefer not wanting to look like I’ve had a hive to bees have a go at my face.. Vain as that sounds..

The buildings and sky would randomly have words hanging around, the words are probably chilling and drinking a cup of coffee at a small shop that has umbrellas or better yet an ice cold beer, waiting for me to think of them or use them – sometimes they stare at me with a “die, stupid human die” expression when I can’t think of the right word, even though it’s right there looking at me or at the tip of my tongue and I have to google it – for shame Neha..love for paper and books and I still google.. yeah I know, its fucked up…

There are parts of my brain I wouldn’t want to visit, you know like a city that’s teeming with life but there are also parts of the city people tell you stay away from for your own safety – well I think I have more of those places than necessary, they have cobwebs from lack of use, dark alleys that involuntarily make you shudder and a cold sweat breaks out on you back and forehead, the shadows of everything seem to morph into something sinister and they have huge metal vaults where I try to stuff thoughts that are unwelcome and too scary to contemplate – coward that I am.

I even have huge reserves of water – like oceans – I might even have the Laurentian abyss, some of the big vaults are drowned there, submerged forever – it’s best they never be opened – i imagine these big vaults are like decepticons and I think it best Megatron stayed at the bottom of the abyss – you know for everyone’s sake 🙂

In some far corners and recesses a war had broken out and the air is heavy and radio active, stepping in there will change you forever and I imagine some parts of the floor in this place are melting with the acid rain water slowly but surely falling from a dark and tormented sky…

Yeah I could go on but I guess you get the gist – I’ve managed to muster the courage to take a teeny tiny looksies into my wicked brain – thoroughly appalled by what I have seen..

Why don’t you take a peek and if you wanna share it with me feel free… until next time..

Also stay tuned, I have a few short stories coming up soon and an inside peek of the book I’m writing, Laters

5 thoughts on “If your brain was a road map to who you are… and you took a walk through it – what would you find?

      1. Road map of my brain … Let’s see … I picture I have an anatomically correct brain (with left and right cerebrum, cerebellum, medulla oblongata, hypothalamus..) … But when I have to imagine .. I don’t quite see it like you do no cobble stones pavements, no buildings… Mine is a vast expanse of nothing really … Boring ain’t it … But to give it a twist … Like the umbrella corporation from our beloved movie resident evil .. Or an underground version of willy wonka’s chocolate factory …weirdly enough those are the only two I seem to compare this to… I imagine compartmentalized structures .. In simpler words rooms … Each having a purpose … The first room you see is a room which changes itself according to the circumstances in other words chameleon like … Moving on you would see a wishing room … Something like a wishing well without the quarters .. My wishes, others wishes everything I can remember lies here … Next up is room filled with a sponge … This is where I recollect everything that happened till date … The good ones atleast .. Next up a bunch of rooms with vaults but all of these are mostly empty … Keep going you would see a warning sign saying black hole up ahead … The building or factory Is no more … The black hole is where I have all the things from the past … Deepest part of my brain … Everything that goes in stays there hopelessly floating in I presume vacuum… Only some times things seem to escape and create a temporary room which makes me feel a range of emotions in one go – This is all I can think of for now … I am a NOOB so forgive me for any shortcomings …

  1. Road map of my brain … Let’s see … I picture I have an anatomically correct brain (with left and right cerebrum, cerebellum, medulla oblongata, hypothalamus..) … But when I have to imagine .. I don’t quite see it like you do no cobble stones pavements, no buildings… Mine is a vast expanse of nothing really … Boring ain’t it … But to give it a twist … Like the umbrella corporation from our beloved movie resident evil .. Or an underground version of willy wonka’s chocolate factory …weirdly enough those are the only two I seem to compare this to… I imagine compartmentalized structures .. In simpler words rooms … Each having a purpose … The first room you see is a room which changes itself according to the circumstances in other words chameleon like … Moving on you would see a wishing room … Something like a wishing well without the quarters .. My wishes, others wishes everything I can remember lies here … Next up is room filled with a sponge … This is where I recollect everything that happened till date … The good ones atleast .. Next up a bunch of rooms with vaults but all of these are mostly empty … Keep going you would see a warning sign saying black hole up ahead … The building or factory Is no more … The black hole is where I have all the things from the past … Deepest part of my brain … Everything that goes in stays there hopelessly floating in I presume vacuum… Only some times things seem to escape and create a temporary room which makes me feel a range of emotions in one go – This is all I can think of for now … I am a NOOB so forgive me for any shortcomings …

Leave a Reply

